Annette Rose-Shapiro

切换语言 Switching languages: 简体中文

Scan the QR code to open with your phone.

Annette Rose-Shapiro has been making glass beads for over 25 years. She was first introduced to this art at UrbanGlass in downtown Brooklyn, where she worked as the Publisher and Managing Editor of GLASS Quarterly. Shapiro studied with several top glass artists at UrbanGlass and in Venice. She also founded The Bead Project in 1997, a program for economically challenged women to learn the skill of bead making and jewelry making as a means of earning income. Shapiro’s practice as a glass bead maker continues a tradition of torch work that originated in 13th century Venice. She has a degree in Fine Art from the State University at Brockport with a concentration in photography and printmaking and also does digital illustration. She has been a student at Bo Law Kung Fu for over 20 years.

Shapiro also collaborates on a line of jewelry with Master Tak Wah Eng, who contributes his painted stones, jade, and other objects from his extensive personal collection. You can see their work at www.engandshapiro.com.

For this exhibition, Shapiro created a digital illustration with photographs that she has taken in Italy, where she has a home, and in Chinatown, where she is almost every day. She shows the similarities between Italy and Chinatown, and why both places are so important to her.

Representative Works

安妮特-罗丝-夏皮罗

切换语言 Switching languages: English

扫一扫二维码用手机打开

安妮特-罗斯-夏皮罗从事玻璃珠制作已经超过25年。她第一次接触这门艺术是在布鲁克林市中心的UrbanGlass,她在那里担任《玻璃季刊》的发行人和执行编辑。夏皮罗在UrbanGlass和威尼斯向几位顶级玻璃艺术家学习。她还在1997年创立了 “珠子计划”,这是一个为经济困难的妇女提供的学习珠子制作和珠宝制作技能的项目,作为赚取收入的一种手段。夏皮罗作为玻璃珠制造商的实践,延续了起源于13世纪威尼斯的火炬工作的传统。她拥有布洛克波特州立大学的美术学位,主修摄影和版画,也做数字插画。她在博罗功夫的学生已经超过20年了。

夏皮罗还与伍德华师傅合作开发了一系列珠宝,德华永大师贡献了他的彩绘石,以及他广泛的个人收藏中的玉石和其他物品。你可以在www.engandshapiro.com,看到他们的作品。

为了这次展览,夏皮罗用她在意大利(她在那里有一个家)和在唐人街(她几乎每天都在那里)拍摄的照片创作了一幅数字插图。她展示了意大利和唐人街的相似之处,以及为什么这两个地方对她如此重要。

代表作品