1. “Individualism”
    Individualism is the core of American culture. Americans advocate the supremacy of the individual, strive for themselves, believe in personal dignity, live for themselves, pay attention to personal characteristics, and pursue self-expression.
  2. “Straightforward” and “Euphemistic”
    Americans like to be honest and straightforward. Between friends and colleagues, they must be sincere. They don’t like flattery, dare to express different opinions, and hate circumstances. For example, Chinese people always like to ask “Have you eaten?” when they meet each other, and they often understand it as an invitation to eat together. Another thing is to be a guest at an American home. When they ask you “Would you like some coffee?”, if you want to drink, don’t be polite, otherwise, you will have to go back thirsty. But Americans are very tactful when they speak. They often talk about “thank you”, “sorry”, and “please”. Try to avoid using hurtful words when speaking, respect others, and don’t overpower others.
  3. “Independence” and “Cooperation”
    Americans have a strong sense of self and independence and do not like to be overly dependent on others. You must have confidence, self-discipline, and continuous self-improvement in everything you do. Parents in the United States begin to cultivate their independence and self-reliance since their children are very young. Children must learn to think independently and do it themselves. They think for themselves, make judgments, and make decisions. The suggestions and opinions of their parents are for reference only. It is up to them whether to adopt them or not. When the children reach 18 years old, the parents let them support themselves. Only in this way can they survive and stand out in a highly commercialized competitive society. However, Americans also attach great importance to the spirit of cooperation. They follow the principle of “the minority obeys the majority”, and even the disagreeing minority will seriously implement the decision. In the workplace, everyone works together for work and will not be discriminated against because they are gay, celibate, or alcoholic. Such a cooperative atmosphere is very pleasant.
  4. “Money” and “Spirit”
    Americans don’t like people asking them how much they earn, mainly because in the US, money is an important measure of a person’s success, and the level of income naturally becomes a symbol of success. The rich do not want to show off, and the poor do not want to mention it. The relationship between American bosses and employees is largely based on money. The employee believes in “how much do you pay, how much effort I contribute”, and the boss believes in “how much effort you contribute, how much I pay”. Everything is done in accordance with the contract signed by the employer and the employee in advance. If overtime is required, the employee can refuse. Once there are better opportunities and better treatment, job-hopping is also commonplace. But the United States is not a “money-oriented” society. The vast majority of Americans believe in religion, with Christianity as the mainstay. For Americans, religion is not only a belief but also a spirit. It permeates all aspects of American life. Americans’ values, attitudes to life, and moral standards are influenced by religious thoughts to a considerable extent. Such as equality and freedom, friendship and mutual assistance, sympathy for the weak, respect for others, self-respect and self-reliance, and self-reliance are all derived from the value standards and life philosophy advocated in religious beliefs.
  5. “Multi-ethnic integration” and “racial discrimination”
    The United States is a multi-ethnic melting pot. There are not only Native Indians but also descendants of European and African immigrants, as well as descendants of Latin Americans and Asians. There are hundreds of thousands of people from all over the world every year. Legal or illegal immigrants flooded into the United States. Various cultures and religious beliefs continue to blend between different races. Various cultures and religious beliefs continue to blend between different races. But hidden racial discrimination still exists. Most blacks are still at the bottom of American society. Some Americans are also skeptical about the political credibility of people of color. People of color are also more difficult to get promoted than white people, and the percentage of important and senior positions held by people of color is low.

1. “个人主义”
    个人主义是美国文化的核心。 美国人崇尚个人至上, 自我奋斗, 深信个人尊严, 为自己而生活,讲究个人特色,追求自我表现。因此,信奉个人主义的美国人把 自己的年龄、婚姻状况、体重、收入、宗教信仰以及个人生活,都看作是个人隐私(privacy),贴上“旁人勿问”的封条。
  2. “直率”与“委婉”
    美国人喜欢坦诚相待,直截了当。朋友之间,同事之间,言必由衷,不喜欢阿谀奉承, 敢于发表不同的观点, 讨厌拐弯抹角。例如, 中国人见面总喜欢问“Have you eaten?”,就时常被他们理解成邀请一起吃饭的美意。再则就是到美国人家中做客,当他们问你“Would you like some coffee?”时,如果你想喝,就千万不要客气,否则你只好口渴着回去了。 但美国人说话时又很委婉,他们常把“thank you”,“sorry”,“please”挂在嘴边。 说话时尽量避免使用伤人的字眼,尊重他人,不强人所难。
  3. “独立”与“合作”
    美国人有强烈的自我意识和独立意识,不喜欢过分依赖他人。做任何事情都要有自信、自律,要不断地自我提高。美国的父母从孩子很小时,就开始培养他们 的独立自主能力, 孩子们从小就要学会独立思考, 自己动手。 他们为自己而思考, 下判断,做决定,父母的建议和看法只供参考,是否采纳最终取决于他们自己。 等孩子长到 18岁后,父母让他们自食其力。只有这样,才能让他们在高度商业 化的竞争社会得以生存,崭露头角。 但美国人又十分重视合作精神,他们遵循“少数服从多数”的原则,即使是不赞 同的少数人也会认真地执行决定。在工作场所,大家都为工作而共同努力,并不会因为是同性恋,独身主义者或是酒鬼而遭到歧视,这样的合作氛围令人感到十分愉快。
  4. “金钱”与“精神”
    美国人不喜欢别人询问他们收入多少,主要是因为在美国,金钱是衡量一个人成功与否的重要尺度, 收入的高低自然就成为了是否成功的象征。 富人不想炫耀, 穷人也不愿提及。美国老板与雇员之间的关系很大程度上建立在金钱之上。雇员信奉“你付多少钱,我出多少力”,老板则信奉“你出多少力,我付多少钱”。一切都按雇主与雇员事先签定的合同来办事,如果需要加班,雇员完全可以拒绝。一旦有了更好的时机、更优厚的待遇,跳槽(job-hopping)也是司空见惯的。 但美国也并不是“一切向钱看”的社会,绝大多数的美国人信奉宗教,以基督教 (Christianity)为主。对于美国人来说,宗教不仅仅是一种信仰,更是一种精神, 它渗透在美国人生活的各个方面。美国人的价值观念、生活态度以及道德标准在 相当大的程度上受宗教思想的影响。如平等自由、友爱互助、同情弱者、尊重他 人、自尊自爱、自强自立都源自于宗教信仰中所提倡的价值标准和处世哲学。
  5. “多民族融合”与“种族歧视”
    美国是一个多民族的大熔炉(melting pot), 不仅有原住民印地安人, 还有欧洲、 非洲移民的后裔,以及拉丁美洲和亚洲人的后代,每年都有数十万来自世界各地 的合法或非法的移民涌入美国。 各种文化和宗教信仰在不同的种族之间不断地交融。 但是隐形的种族歧视依然存在。大多数的黑人仍处在美国社会最底层。某些美国人对有色人种的政治可信度也抱有怀疑态度。有色人种升职也比白人困难,重要职务和高级职务由有色人种担任的比例偏低。