Fang Shujiu

切换语言 Switching languages: 简体中文

Scan the QR code to open with your phone.

Fang Shujiu was born in July 1943 in Huainan, Anhui Province, China. He studied in Nanjing as a teenager, and entered the art department of Nanjing Art Institute in 1960; in 1963, he entered the Department of Plastic Art of Wuxi Light Industry University (now Jiangnan University); in 1967, he graduated from the university during the Cultural Revolution and was assigned to a factory to receive re-education of the working class as the head of the design office, engaged in foreign trade art design and art creation; in 1986, he was transferred to Suzhou City Construction Environmental Protection College (now Suzhou University of Science and Technology) as In 1994, he was invited to Thailand and Malaysia in Southeast Asia to hold a successful solo exhibition; at the end of 1996, he was invited to the United States and Canada to hold exhibitions and lectures, and to study at Arcadia College of Fine Arts in the United States, and at the same time, he was appointed as a professor of art at Liqi University of Science and Technology in the United States and as an honorary researcher at the Canadian Cultural Renewal Research Center (Institute). In May 2021, he was appointed as a Chinese State Guest Artist and National Artist and was also appointed as a visiting professor at the Academy of Fine Arts of Tsinghua University.
Now living in New York, he is the president of the Nine Dragons Art Institute, the director of the East-West Art Center and the executive chairman of the International Federation of Expatriate Culture and Art, the president of the Daifengtang Art Research Association, the academician of the Asian Art Institute, the honorary president of the Chinese Painting Society (USA), the vice president of the New York Poetry, Painting and Chess Association and the first president and artistic director of the Painting and Calligraphy Institute.
His works have been collected by the United Nations, former U.S. President Reagan, former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, the King of Thailand, and other political and business leaders, as well as universities and museums in many countries. He has been awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award and the Jiezuo Artist Award in the U.S. and has been listed in the “Who’s Who Among Chinese” and “Who’s Who in the World”; in Beijing, he received the “Artistic Achievement Award” and was awarded the He was also awarded the “Artistic Achievement Award” in Beijing and was honored as the “2018 Most Influential People’s Artist”. He has been invited to hold many exhibitions at the United Nations, and his works have been exhibited at art fairs in more than 20 countries around the world. He has inherited and carried forward the art style of Dafengtang, where his predecessors Zhang Shanzhuang and Zhang Daqian “raised tigers and painted them, and sent them to express their feelings”. Figure] group painting, [Three Kingdoms Five Tiger Generals], [Water Margin 108 Generals] tiger painting scroll, these are the only seen in history. He also “painted horses and expressed his feelings through horses” and his 100 horses were selected to be funded by the government to create the first monument gallery of 100 horses in China – Fang Shujiu’s 100 horses monument, which filled a gap in art history. His panda paintings were selected for the first set of postcards and first-day covers in the United States for global distribution. He is capable of painting both Chinese and Western landscapes, flowers, birds, and figures, but he specializes in many animal paintings such as tigers, horses, lions, pandas, and zodiac signs, which have been published and distributed in over a million copies in China and abroad. In the world of painting, his works are known as “The King of Tigers, the Treasure of China”.
  The most important feature of his art is that he takes the spirit of traditional Chinese art as the base and appropriately absorbs some features of Western art to express his feelings through objects. His works are full of human feelings and at the same time reflect profound ideology and characteristics of the times, thus forming his grounded and unique art style of overseas Chinese.
He is also a sculptor and senior designer. He has designed environmental art for many city centers and created more than ten large urban sculptures, and was invited by the state to sculpt giant marble reliefs for each side of a museum gate.
  His multifaceted artistic achievements were highly recognized by experts and scholars at the International Symposium on the Works of Fang Shujiu held at Columbia University in the United States.
  He is a rare artist with a conscience and a sense of social responsibility. His poems and paintings, such as “Two Eggs for a Pound of Food Stamps”, which were criticized during the Cultural Revolution, have been praised as “great realist works” by domestic and foreign critics, and have been recorded in the history of literature. The international symposium of his works has also had a far-reaching impact through the global connection with Harvard, Yale, Oxford, Cambridge, etc., more than 60 universities in the world.

Representative Works

方书久

切换语言 Switching languages: English

扫一扫二维码用手机打开

方书久,1943年7月出生中国安徽淮南市。青少年时代在南京读书,1960年考入南京艺术学院附中美术科;1963年考入无锡轻工大学造型美术系(现江南大学);1967年文革中大学毕业,分配到工厂接受工人阶级再教育任设计室负责人,从事外贸艺术设计和美术创作;1986年调入苏州城建环保学院(现苏州科技大学)任副教授兼艺术研究所长;1994年应邀赴东南亚泰、马等国办个人画展获得成功;1996年底受邀来美国、加拿大举办画展和讲学,并进美阿凯迪亚美术学院进修,同时被聘为美国丽琦科技大学艺术教授、加拿大文化更新研究中心(院)荣誉研究员,后被中国东南大学艺术学院聘为客座教授;2021年5月被特聘为中国国宾礼艺术家和国家一级美术师,并又被清华大学美术学院聘为客座教授。
现居纽约,任美国九龙艺术研究院院长、美国东西艺术中心总监兼国际侨派文化艺术联合会执行主席、美国大风堂艺术研究会会长、美国亚州艺术院院士、中国画学会(美国)荣誉会长、纽约诗画琴棋会副会长兼书画院首任院长和艺术总监等。
联合国、美国前总统里根、前国务卿希莱莉·克林顿、泰国国王等政商名流和多国大学、博物馆收藏了他的作品。他荣获美国“终身成就奖”、“杰岀艺术家奖”并入选《华裔名人年鉴》、《世界名人录》;在北京获“艺术成就奖”并又被授予“2018最有影响力的人民艺术家”荣誉称号。他多次受特邀在联合国举办画展;其作品展销世界二十多国艺博会广受欢迎;他继承并发扬先师张善孖、张大千兄弟“养虎画虎,寄虎言情”的大风堂艺风,将中国文学三大名著的主要人物都用虎来表现:例名家题赞的虎画[红楼梦十二金钗图]组画、[三国五虎将]、[水浒108将]虎画长卷,这些都是史上所仅见。他又“牧马画马,借马抒怀”的百匹龙马被选中,由政府出资创建了[中国第一座百骏图碑廊——方书久百骏图碑],填补了艺术史上一项空白;他的熊猫组画等,被选中制成美国第一套大熊猫明信片和首日封全球发行。他中西绘画山水花鸟人物皆能,但题材特擅虎、马、狮、熊猫、十二生肖等许多动物画,在中外出版发行逾百万份。在世界画坛上其作品有“虎王神骏,华夏之宝”的美誉。
  他艺术最大的特点是以中国传统艺术精神为底蕴,适当吸取西方艺术的一些特点,以借物抒情。作品在充满人情味的同时,体现出深刻的思想性和时代特征,从而形成其接地气又独特的侨派艺术风格。
他还是位雕塑家和高级设计师。其为多个城市中心广场设计环境艺术并创建十多座大型城市雕塑,更受国家特邀为一博物馆大门两侧,各雕塑了巨型的大理石浮雕。
  他跨界多方面的艺术成就,在美国哥伦比亚大学召开的「方书久作品国际学术研讨会」上,得到了专家学者们的高度肯定。
  更难得的他是位有良知和具社会责任感的艺术家,他在文革中创作并被批判的代表作《一斤粮票两个蛋》等诗画作品,现已被国内、外评誉是极有价值的“伟大的现实主义作品”,已被载入文献史册。其作品国际研讨会还通过和哈佛、耶鲁、牛津、剑桥等等,世界六十余所大学的全球联接,影响深远。

代表作品